FIVE Stages of Parkinson’s

The FIVE Stages of Parkinson’s Disease

Dr. Margaret M. Hoehn, the author of the most frequently cited paper in professional articles dealing with Parkinson’s Disease discusses the Hoehn and Yahr Scale used throughout the world to classify patients participating in research studies. She has deliberately used the word “Parkinson’s” since the term applies to all forms of the disorder including Parkinson’s Disease.
The method of designating the severity of Parkinsonism by what is now known as the Hoehm and Wahr Scale was published in 1967. The original definition (underlined) of the FIVE stages of severity is as follows:


For the complete article and a downloadable PDF paper please click here:

The FIVE Stages of Parkinsons Disease


This article Reprinted May 2002 with permission from The United Parkinson’s Foundation and provided for your information by 

74-090 El Paseo  Suite 104
Palm Desert, Ca. 92260

About Editor